Sunday, April 29, 2012

Berlin IV 2012 announcement

Dear debaters of the world,

The Berlin Debating Union is proud to announce that the Berlin IV 2012 will take place from June 29th to July 1st. Maybe you’ve heard about the deep adjudication pool and the hot socials from our last two editions. Once again we plan to invest every cent we can raise in the quality of the tournament.

Key facts and figures:

CA: Isabelle Fischer, among other great things, DCA of Belgrade Euros and Berlin Worlds.
DCA: Harish Natarajan, twice Euros finalist, Worlds semi-finalist, CA at the Cambridge IV, SOAS IV, Manchester IV and over 10 other major competitions.

At least 5 rounds of 7 minute speeches with an ESL and open break - excellent Euros prep!

Participation fee of 35€ p.p. with crash, 25€ if you can organize crash with non-debating friends in Berlin. As always, very good meals are included!

Remember that cocktail party from last year on the rooftop of a hotel? Get ready for even more innovative socials...

We have a team cap of 52 teams with an institution cap of three teams per institution. We expect teams to drop out after the first payment phase and will then allocate remaining spots on a first come first served basis.

If your institution sends N teams, you have to send at least N-1 judges.

Registration will start on May 1st at 12:00 Berlin time (that’s 11 am in London and Dublin and 13.00 in Istanbul, Moscow and Athens) on . You will receive an email with payment and further details then.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to send an email to .

With the best wishes from Berlin,
Niels Schröter

PS: There is no schedule up now, but we won’t start before 5 pm on Friday and will end before 4 pm on Sunday.

No comments:

Post a Comment